Hiya.  This is my first ever attempt at a blog, so we will see how this goes.  A few weeks ago I was grocery shopping when I saw the special edition of Rolling Stone that listed the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.  Now I have never been fond of Rolling Stone, but I have always been fond of music, so I bought the issue mainly out of curiosity to see how many of the top 500 albums I actually owned.  After reading the issue and discovering that I owned about 60 of the albums, I realized that I wanted to hear the other 440.  Thanks to the digital music revolution, CDs are now really inexpensive on Amazon, so I figured I could get most of them pretty cheap.  Also, I live in a city with some fantastic used record stores, so this project will give me an excuse to comb the bins at some local record shops.  It was just recently that I had the idea for this blog, and my plan is to write about each album after I listen to it.

Here’s a little bit about my background.  As I said above, I have always loved music.  In fact, I loved music so much that I majored in it in college.  After college I became a music teacher, and thus far I have had a fairly successful and rewarding career.  However, there has always been a huge disconnect between the music that I study and teach in school and the music that I listen to in my personal life.  I came of age in the nineties listening to the Seattle bands everyone else was listening to: Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Soundgarden.  In my free time in college I got into some great classic rock like the Beatles and the Doors.  In the 2000s, I discovered some fantastic indie bands and I became of huge fan of Flogging Molly, Gogol Bordello, and the Decemberists.  And I would be remiss if I did not mention my all time favorite band, Radiohead, whose music has been an inspiration to me for the last 20 years.

Well, thanks for reading, and I hope you check back in with me as I work my way through the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time!

 

