My copy of “Sgt. Pepper’s” still has the sticker from Used Kids Records on it from when I bought it on April 6th, 199something.  Actually, it was probably either 1995 or 1996, my freshman or sophomore year of college.  I paid $9 for it.  I tell most people I moved to this city for the Ohio State University, but really it was for Used Kids Records.  My first time coming down here, I remember ditching my college tour and taking the tour of the used record shops on High Street instead.  I came home that day with more used CDs than actual information about college.

I remember getting into the Beatles because my friend Lord Bacchus’ father, the Whiskey Saint, used to play Beatles and John Lennon tunes non-stop at the Great Ranch in Trumbull Township. For multiple summers back home, I would get off work and hang out at the Great Ranch with Lord Bacchus, Black Cloud, Lightning 101, and the other slaves of the Evil Empire, listening to the Beatles and drinking shots of butterscotch schnapps.  Ah, those were the days!

So in the fall I would go to college, and I would miss those days at the ranch, so I started buying up Beatles albums whenever I would see them at Used Kids.  This was one of the first ones I got, and it’s still one of the ones I like the best (although Abbey Road is probably my favorite Beatles record).  I can see why this album is the #1 all time record in Rolling Stone’s list.  All of the songs just seem to fit together, even though there isn’t any obvious connection between them.  A certain sense of carnival whimsy is pervasive throughout, especially on “Mr. Kite” and “When I’m Sixty-Four”.  However, this is balanced by the longing of “She’s Leaving Home” and the melancholy of “Fixing a Hole”.  The title track is a classic, and its reprise near the end of the album sports a beat and a rhythm ahead of its time.

The stand out track on the record is “A Day in the Life”.  Even in college, I connected with this song.  I have always seen it as a commentary on the repetitive and dull nature of the daily working man’s life, a subject which Radiohead, Nine Inch Nails, and I’m sure countless other bands have expounded upon.  I have always loved the melody of John Lennon’s “Ah” (a quite scream, perhaps?) as Paulie “goes into a dream”.  Amazing stuff.

Other lists: “A Day in the Life” is #28 and “With a Little Help From My Friends” is #311 on Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.  Also, several songs from this album are on Rolling Stone’s list of the 100 Greatest Beatles Songs: #1 “A Day in the Life”, #19 “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds”, #60 “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band”, #61 “With a Little Help From My Friends”, #82 “She’s Leaving Home”, and ##96 “Within You Without You”.  Individual accolades include George Harrison being listed as #11 and John Lennon as #55 on Rolling Stones Top 100 Guitarists, and John Lennon and Paul McCartney coming in at #5 and #11 respectively on Rolling Stone’s Top 100 Singers.  Finally, the Beatles are #1 and John Lennon is #38 on Rolling Stone’s lists of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time.

My favourite track: “A Day in the Life”

Honourable mention: “When I’m Sixty-Four”

A word from the Princess: Riveting!

Quote: “Fun is the one thing that money can’t buy”

