So this was one of the Beatles albums that I didn’t already have, but I managed to get a copy on Amazon for $6.41.  Once I saw the track listing, I immediately had a flashback to playing “Eleanor Rigby” as part of a Beatles medley in high school marching band.  Ah, those were the days!  I played alto saxophone in the band, and I think the Beatles medley was part of our competition show that year.  We probably played it a couple hundred times in practice.  I’m not 100% positive, but I think it was my freshman year, and the show was all classic rock songs, but the only other song I can remember off the top of my head is Alice Cooper’s “School’s Out”.  And “Michelle” was also part of the Beatles medley.

Anyhow, this album is pretty noisy.  It almost has a garage rock kind of feel to it.  Of course, “Eleanor Rigby” is the opposite, with Paulie singing over a chamber orchestra, but the rest of the songs have some pretty raw guitar sounds.  And while the vocal harmonies are pretty simple on this record, the boys show what they can do on “And Your Bird Can Sing”.  Overall, pretty varied album, with a political statement in “Taxman” juxtaposed with the childish whimsy of “Yellow Submarine”.  Paulie really shines on this record with ballads like “Here, There and Everywhere” and rockers like “Got to Get You Into My Life”.

Other lists: Only one song from this album, “Eleanor Rigby”, ranks on Rolling Stone’s Top 500 Songs of All Time, coming in at #138.  However, 11 of the 14 tracks on “Revolver” are listed in Rolling Stone’s Top 100 Beatles songs: #18 “Tomorrow Never Knows”, #22 “Eleanor Rigby”, #25 “Here, There and Everywhere”, #37 “She Said She Said”, #40 “For No One”, #50 “Got to Get You Into My Life”, #55 “Taxman”, #57 “I’m Only Sleeping”, #74 “Yellow Submarine”, #78 “And Your Bird Can Sing”, and #89 “Good Day Sunshine”.

My favourite song: “Eleanor Rigby” — I’m pretty sure the saxophones had the melody when I played it in high school 🙂

Honourable mention: “And Your Bird Can Sing”

Quote: “All the lonely people, where do they all come from?”

