Wow.  Three of the top five albums are by the Beatles.  Mi madre gave me this album (along with a matching t-shirt :)) several years ago for Christmas.  She said it was one of her favorites.  Ma soeur also says this is one of her favorite Beatles records.  I remember “Michelle” being part of the Beatles medley we played in my high school marching band, but my most vivid memory of this record is singing “In My Life” at my friend Half-Witt’s wedding.  You see, Half-Witt was a co-worker of mine, and she decided in August that she was going to get married an Thanksgiving weekend that November.  She wanted a singer, but she wanted one free, so she asked me to do it and I said yes.  She  actually wanted the Bette Midler version (gag), but I told her I would only do the original version.  Since beggars can’t be choosers, she said that was fine.  So I asked my friend, the Reformed Preacher-Man (also a co-worker) to play acoustic guitar for me, and away we went to the strangest wedding I have ever seen.  But that is another story altogether.  We did a fine job on the song, if I do say so myself, but I’ll admit that I did not do John Lennon’s falsetto lick at the very end 😛

So I think I like this album a litter better than “Revolver”.  It is much softer overall, and the songs seem to be more well-crafted.  The vocal harmonies in particular seem to be more carefully developed, especially on “Nowhere Man” and “What Goes On” (the latter of which has a cool rockabilly/bluegrass feel).  The record has its rockers too, especially “Drive My Car” and “Think For Yourself”.  And I certain don’t mean to demean the Beatles when I say that the chorus of “I’m Looking Through You” seems to have influenced half of the Monkees’ song catalog.

Other lists: “In My Life” is #23 and “Norwegian Wood” is #83 on Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.  Eight songs from this album chart in Rolling Stone’s 100 Greatest Beatles Songs, including “In My Life” at #5, “Norwegian Wood” at #12, “Drive My Car” at #43, “If I Needed Someone” at #51, “Girl” at #62, “Nowhere Man” at #66, “Think For Yourself” at #75, and “You Won’t See Me” at #94.

My favourite track: “In My Life”

Honourable Mention: “Girl”

Quote: “A man must break his back to earn his day of leisure”

