This is another album that I didn’t have, so I paid $8.57 for it on Amazon, and of course, the day after it arrived I saw it in the $3 bin at Used Kids.  But hopefully this is a better copy…at least that is what I am telling myself.  Prior to owning this, I actually did not own a single Rolling Stones album.  It’s not that I don’t like the Rolling Stones, it’s just that I never got into them in a major way.  I guess I’ve always kind of wanted to get into the Stones, so this is a good excuse.  Their image as rock ‘n roll’s original bad boys has always appealed to me, and it really shines through on this record.  This album oozes sex, drugs, and rock ‘n roll, and even manages to make a couple social statements as well.  And it manages to be the first album on this list with some “colorful language”. 🙂

This is a very varied album stylistically.  It ranges from straight-up rock and roll to rockabilly to rhythm and blues, and even manages to throw in a bit of country western for good measure.  And the whole thing is very RAW.  Keith Richards called this the first grunge album, and it seems to be an accurate assessment.  It’s almost as if every instrument was crammed into a small room and recorded at the same time.  Apparently this was recorded at Keith Richard’s villa in France, so maybe that was the case.  Anyway, there seems to be very little balance or production, and at times Mick Jagger can barely be heard over the roar of the instruments.  Most bands probably couldn’t pull this off, but it works here for the Stones.

Other lists: “Tumbling Dice” is #433 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 Greatest Songs.  Mick Jagger is #16 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 100 Greatest Singers.  Keith Richards is #4 and Mick Taylor is #37 on the list of the 100 Greatest Guitarists.  Finally, the Rolling Stones are #4 on the list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time.

My favourite track: “Shine a Light”

Honourable mention: “Sweet Virginia”

Quote: “Always took candy from strangers, didn’t wanna get me no trade.  Never want to be like papa, working for the boss every night and day.”

