Well, a power outage, internet problems, the 4th of July holiday, a camping trip, and a week of teaching music to elementary children in the evenings have all conspired to make it awhile since my last post.  But things have settled down and I am back on track.  So I picked up this album at Half Price Books for $3.99 (minus my 10% teacher discount :)).  It’s not quite as sarcastic as “Highway 61 Revisited”, and the lyrics are not quite as witty either.  However, they do still have that great Bob Dylan bite to them, especially on “Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat” and “Most Likely You Go Your Way and I’ll Go Mine”.  Interestingly, on this album Bobby seems far more concerned with women (“Pledging My Time”, “I Want You”, and “Temporary Like Achilles”) than the state of world affairs.  Musically, this shifts back and forth quickly between the blues and folk, but the bluesy songs have more wit than sadness.

Other lists: “Just Like a Woman” is #232 and “Visions of Johanna” is #413 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.

My favorite track: “Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again”

Honorable mention: “Temporary Like Achilles”

Quote: “And here I sit so patiently waiting to find out what price you have to pay to get out of going through all these things twice.”

