Bringing It All Back Home

 

I remember seeing the video for “Subterranean Homesick Blues” when I was a kid and thinking it was funny.  I can’t remember if they actually showed it on MTV, or if it was on a video that mi madre had.  Either way, I liked it even at an early age, and for just about my entire life I have always noticed when the vandals have stolen the handles in public places.  And I always watch my pawking metaws too.  Anyhow, I was excited to see that song and “Maggie’s Farm”, a song mi madre would always quote when she was frustrated with her job, on this album when I found it for $3.99 (minus my 10% teacher discount) at the Half-Price Books on High Street (fitting, eh?) north of Clintonville.

 

So this was Dylan’s first electric album, and apparently there was a bit of controversy when Dylan first went electric?  Yeah, I know that’s an understatement…the man got booed at the Newport Folk Festival in 1965 for playing electric.  It’s a shame if people missed out on this album back in the day because of the electric/acoustic controversy because this album has some of Dylan’s best stuff.  Lyrically, he is at times laugh out loud funny (“Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream”), witty (“Subterranean Homesick Blues”), defiant (“Maggie’s Farm”), tender (“Love Minus Zero/No Limit”), dismissive (“It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue”), and of course, political (“It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)”).  And the first half is electric and the second half is acoustic, so everybody should be happy right?

Other lists: “Mr. Tambourine Man” is #107 (funny that the Byrd’s version ranks higher at #79) and “Subterranean Homesick Blues” is #340 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.

My favorite track: “Subterranean Homesick Blues” (it might be my favorite Dylan song)

Honorable mention: “Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream” (only Dylan could write stuff like this and have it still make sense)

Quote: “You don’t need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows”

 

