Let It Bleed

 

I think mi madre’s favorite response to me whenever I would as for something as a child was “You can’t always get what you want”.  I say as a child, but I think it continued into my teenage years, and maybe into my adult life as well.  At least it kept me from being spoiled…too badly.  At any rate, this is my second Rolling Stones album and I bought this older edition off of Amazon for $8.93 because I did not want to buy the most current remastered edition for $9.99 at Best Buy.  Like I’ve said before, I am not a fan of any post-mp3 era remasters, so I was happy to get this edition.

The only song I knew on this album other than “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” was “Gimm[i]e Shelter”, as that song was featured in the original Rock Band game and I spent quite a bit of time trying to 5-star the drum track (dear Harmonix: why are your drum tracks always so hard?).  I guess I also knew “Country Honk”, but I knew it in its more popular single version, “Honky Tonk Women”.  And “Love In Vain” is a Robert Johnson song I had heard on “The Complete Recordings” boxset, but the Rolling Stone’s version sounds completely different.  But yeah, as always the Stones are a fun listen.  I was surprised at how graphic the lyrics were on the song “Let It Bleed” (“yeah, we all need someone we can cream on”), and I hear a lot of sounds that definitely shaped the direction one of my all-time favorite bands, Guns ‘N Roses, would take on the Illusion albums.  The Stones were the original bad boys of rock ‘n roll, and this record certainly shows it.

Other lists: “Gimm[i]e Shelter” is #38 and “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” is #101 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All-Time.

My favourite track: “You Can’t Always Get What You Want”

Honourable mention: “Gimm[i]e Shelter”

Quote: “You can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometimes, well you just might find you get what you need”

