Sticky Fingers

My connection to this album really begins with my love of the Guns.  I am sure I had heard the song “Wild Horses” several times, but the first time I really noticed it was when I saw Axl and Duff sing it with Gilby and Slash trading leads towards the end of the Use Your Illusion I tour video (on VHS baby!) back around 1992 or 1993.  About the same time, I remember buying a G n’ R import (read: bootleg) at the Record Den called “Guns N’ Roses Unplugged” that opens with a cover of “Dead Flowers” with Axl rocking out the vocals.  Then a year later Gilby put a cover of “Dead Flowers” on his solo record, “Pawn Shop Guitars” (it’s not quite as cool as the G n’ R version…Axl helps out, but he only sings on the chorus).  My freshman year of college I remember seeing Gilby on his solo tour and he played “Dead Flowers”.  It was at the Newport Music Hall, and he played in front of about 5 people, one of which was me and another of which was the Elusive One who had biked (read: bicycle biked) all the way from Denison University in Granville, Ohio to Columbus for the show.  Hardcore.  Slash played on that tour too, and I remember he had his trademark top hat on and he was wearing a shirt that said “Dopey says legalize it”.  Good times.

So I picked up this album back in December at the Half-Price books out on Brice Road (the east side where all the bad boys ((read: gang bangers)) hang out?) for $5.99 (minus my 10% teacher discount).  I was trying to kill time in between work and a late holiday cantata church choir rehearsal.  After leaving HPB, I remember stopping by the Evil Empire to grab a cup of coffee and seeing a pack of Newport cancer sticks laying on the prep counter…Old Man McConnell would have had us cleaning the lobby for weeks for something like that.  Actually we would have been fired.  Anyway, I don’t much like “the package”, but the album itself is really good.  Classic Stones at the high point of their career.

Other lists:  “Wild Horses” is #343 and “Brown Sugar” is #495 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All-Time.

Ch-ch-changes: This album dropped one spot from the original list due to the addition of CCR’s “Chronicle”.

My favourite track: “Dead Flowers”

Honourable mention: “Brown Sugar”

Quote: “And you can send me dead flowers [every morning/by the mail/to my wedding], and I won’t forget to put roses on your grave.”

